banner

Genocide on Road:
Whose responsibility is it anyway?

Bhaskar Majumder

What a pro-active legislature – just I wondered how did the walking Bharat survived over past 50+days post-Corona 2019/2020, I got the message through electronic media that the Centre on 15th May, 2020 asked states and Union Territories (UTs) to provide food and shelter to migrant workers if they were observed walking on roads and railways tracks, and ensure they board special trains to reach their home-state. Of course, the Union Home Secretary personally noticed the movement of migrant workers on roads and railway tracks in different corners of the country.

It is late – it is already genocide. I am not an expert to unearth who sponsored it – it is left to the expert committees, and the pillars of the state. Each day is a nightmare – formal darkness is not awaited – each day I am consuming with a series of cups of morning tea number of deaths on road – these deaths are not nationally mourned for these people dying are strangers to the nation that they served with their blood and sweat, who were accustomed to working and sleeping often under the sky. Getting the time-scope to sleep for 9 p.m. to 4 a.m. was a privilege for most of them that is what I discovered in 1984 while bringing labour (not human beings) by a tattered Bus from Nawada in Bihar to Barasat brick kiln near Calcutta/Kolkata. I am not going to detail the process.